2015 scholarship winners announced

December 7, 2015

Barbara L. Frye Journalism Scholarship Announces 2015 Winners

TALLAHASSEE – The Florida Capitol Press Corps is pleased to announce it has awarded the 2015 Barbara L. Frye Scholarship to 15 aspiring journalists from eight different high schools and colleges.

The awards provide $2,000 in scholarships to college students and graduating high school seniors planning to pursue a career in reporting and writing. Students who attended high school in Florida or are enrolled at a Florida college or university are eligible to apply. This year’s winners represent students from five universities and three Florida high schools.

Money for the scholarships is raised by the Capitol Press Corps members through the “(Sometimes) Annual Capitol Press Skits,” held each year during the legislative session. The event pokes fun at politicians and policy at the state Capitol.

The scholarship is named after Barbara L. Frye, the Tallahassee bureau chief for United Press International for 38 years. Frye was the first woman to work full time in the Florida Capitol Press Corps and covered 11 governors — from Spessard L. Holland to Bob Graham. Frye was elected to the Florida Women’s Hall of Fame in 1984 and was a member of the inaugural class of the Florida Press Association Hall of Fame in 1990.

To view the 2015 winners click here.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s